Do I need special wheels for SS bike?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Do I need special wheels for SS bike?

I am building up a disc only On One Inbred frame as a ss. Do I need special wheels/rims/hubs? Or do I just need spacers? I don't want to spent a fortune on wheels if I can get a good deal on Pricepoint. I am still learning so pardon my ignorance.

Suffering Mightily
    Spacers and a cog work fine. Saw a WTB SS wheelset at Pricepoint for less than 200 clams. That was a couple of months ago, though. Also, check out the FAQ at the top right of the page. It answers just about any question you could have about SS. Good luck and poat a pic when you get 'er built.
    -Drbbt
    Without freedom of choice, there is no creativity. Without creativity, there is no life. The body dies.

mtbr member
    nopers. you can use a cassette hub and spacers along with a ss cog.

Out spokin'
    What them fellers said.

The only reason to drop coin on a dedicated SS rear wheel is fashion.

Now somebody will probably come along and point out that an honest SS wheel has less dish so this makes it stronger. While this is true, the dedicated SS wheel's added strength is beyond what's necessary. Every day there are plenty of geared rear wheels out there not failing.

--Sparty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparticus
    What them fellers said.

The only reason to drop coin on a dedicated SS rear wheel is fashion.

Now somebody will probably come along and point out that an honest SS wheel has less dish so this makes it stronger. While this is true, the dedicated SS wheel's added strength is beyond what's necessary. Every day there are plenty of geared rear wheels out there not failing.

--Sparty