AOF
    soft / 34/ married

Do I have to stop SSing? (ACL reconstruction)

I have been SSing for about 5 years, and this fall I tore my ACL playing football.

I had the surgery about 3 weeks ago, and I have been thinking that when I get the green light to mountain bike again this spring (hopefully) that I will have to convert my bike to geared.

My PT thinks this would put too much stress on my knee.

Any SS mountain biking orthos out there that can offer an opinion?

-Dan
    Southern NH NEMBA & My LBS & My Blog & Single Speed Alliance

Take advantage of every opportunity to ride your bicycle!

mtbr member
    Came off a different surgery from a bad minisucal tear, and was told that smooth, consistent spinning would be best for PT. I stayed off the mtn bike entirely for a few months and just rode the road bike. Worked well, I recovered quickly with no setbacks. IMHO it's not worth it to risk slowing or inhibiting your recovery. Don't push it.
    If you're intent on riding the SS, take it easy and stick to the flats for a while.

I'm not a doc, just sharing my experience and .02

mtbr member
    I have done my ACL not once but twice. I don't think that I need to tell you that you will not be on the SS for quite a while. You will need to start with gears and work your way back up to SS fitness.
    I would say it takes a good 7-8 months before I would get back on the SS and probably a year before you can say you feel "normal".

My doc and PT both are good blokes who understand that the level of fitness I had pre surgery helped a ton in the recovery process. They both said I could push it as hard as I wanted, there was no more damage I could do by riding. You may be different if you have meniscus issues as well. I have been banned by both of them from any sport that isn't cycling.

Get ready for a state of not-quite-pain but at least uncomfortable for some time to come.

Stretch often.