Dinglespeed- Mtbr.com

Thread: Dinglespeed

mtbr member
    Oct 2009

New question here. Dinglespeed

I'm a newbie, but what is a dinglespeed.

Ovaries on the Outside
    Amphetamines for your dick.

Out spokin'
    Quote Originally Posted by umarth
    Amphetamines for your dick.
    You're already drunk, aren't you?
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    A dinglespeed is like that wannabe who is always hanging out with the cool kids... here's an example:

All the disadvantages of a geared drivetrain, except maybe the weight and complexity of derailleurs and all the other shifty bits... definitely not cool or hip like a dedicated SS setup though.

There's a certain kind of coolness even amongst the dingle crowd that involves a couple chainrings and a couple cogs just a few teeth apart with the same tooth count. Gotta get there if you wanna be "in" with the "out" crowd.

Fortunately, with two quicklinks and an eccentric hub, this one can become just like the cool kids in a minute or so.
    For me, riding bikes is not a hobby, it is a way of life.
    http://natureofmtness.blogspot.com

Retro Grouch
    That is not a dinglespeed, that is simply a two speed drivetrain using a tensioner. A true dinglespeed requires a double rear cog, does not use a tensioner and is used with a fixed gear drivetrain as described below.