FTM

the darkside just got darker

After testing out this off road single speed thing for a while using an old derailler I decided to ENOfy my Bontrager. At the same time as ordering the hub I ordered a nice new 18t ENO freewheel along with some ENO cranks.

Just before putting the wheel on my bike I decided to throw on one of my spare 17t track cogs. Somehow the fixed side got hooked up to the chain - I've been riding fixed on my road bikes on and off for 20 years - so what the hell, a quick spin on the fire roads should be fun. Climbing was the same as expected - standing and mashing. Downhill, however, scary as hell but oh so fun! Ok, I'll use fixed for the easy stuff and the freewheel for the more technical stuff... I've only used the ENO freewheel once in since I got it a month ago, and that was just to see what it was like. It was fine but...

Well, this morning after riding El Prieto smoother fixed that I had ever ridden it before (even with a F/S geared bike) I took off my rear brake. I don't like using it for fixed riding and the rear brakes make an annoying rubbing sound after gritty stream crossings. I'll keep the freewheel on my hub for a little while longer (don't have the proper tool to remove it) but I can't see me going back - it's too much fun over here on the darkside.

My wife wants to know what I'm going to remove from my bike next. She's guessing offroad unicycle.

mtbr member

good choice of frame

Quote Originally Posted by FTM
    After testing out this off road single speed thing for a while using an old derailler I decided to ENOfy my Bontrager. At the same time as ordering the hub I ordered a nice new 18t ENO freewheel along with some ENO cranks.
    You've chosen well...Bonti + ENO....mmmmmm

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Here ya go!

Dirt Uni
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

Mtn Biker Machinist

Uni story