Convince me to keep SSing, Please!- Mtbr.com
    sonoranbiker
    Dec 2006

Convince me to keep SSing, Please!

So here's my deal. I have been riding SS for about 2 1/2 years, starting with a 26" conversion, then adding a MC29 (which I love), and adding a SS road bike for commuting. My knees have been feeling a bit creaky for a while, and then over the fall I led a 3-week backpacking trip in the Blue Range Primitive Area (read 70+ lb. pack, off-trail for 3 weeks). It was VERY hard on the knees, and after the trip they hurt nearly all the time (mainly under the kneecaps, when I ride, after I ride, when I crouch down and stand up). I went to see a doctor, and he said to use them 'till I can't then get surgery (helpful, huh?). I also get chiropractic adjustments every week, and he does work on my knees.

I absolutely love SSing, but am concerned that my knees are getting trashed, and I don't want to be one of those 40-year olds who is crippled and can't do anything athletic. I'm thinking of selling the MC29 and the road bike, and getting something like a D440 (1x8) that I can use for both commuting and trail riding.

Any other suggestions? Anybody have any good arguments to keep SSing?

Thanks in advance- Evan

mtbr member
    what gearing?

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Maybe a professional fitting to be sure that everything is set up ideally before you do something drastic.

mtbr member
    If you're seriously messing up your knees then you might need to make some adjustments in how you ride. Maybe you need to adjust your riding geometry? Raise your seat, shorter stem, that sort of thing? If you have exhausted your alternatives then keeping your knees is a pretty good reason to move to a gearie, if you ask me. I've ridden a D440 and it's a damn good bike, and I really like the 1x8 setup as a compromise.

Just don't stop riding old man! (and I'm getting there myself)

mtbr member