Converting to Single speed- Mtbr.com
    Kiss my Grits!

Converting to Single speed

I have a GF Cake, full-suspension that I am thinking about converting to a single-speed for riding at the bike park with my son. I have a Bontraeger rear hub. Do I need anything more than a Surely spacer kit and a single speed cog to convert this over?

What else should I know before making the conversion?

I appreciate your help so that I don't have to learn (completely) through my mistakes.
    Sometimes, with a very strenuous effort, I will fatigue.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    My conversion became semi complete tonight, so I am far from an expert but... Even you keep your middle ring you will need to purchase a set of narrow chain ring bolts, use chain ring spacers, or grind the existing ones down to fit. I tried grinding them but ended up getting a set from pricepoint for $11, your LBS can order them. I also went with a single speed specific chain ring (Blackspire Veloce) for $25 because I read here that the ramps/pins on a normal chain ring can cause chain jump issues. Don't forget a chain tensioner. You can use an old derailleur, fabricate one or buy one. I bought a Sette fixed tensioner for about $20. Some guys say you can convert a bike for under $20, if you don't have a bunch of old stuff laying around it may cost more. I just wanted something reliable even if it's my first SS. Good luck.
    Last edited by robc in wi; 11-01-2009 at 01:01 AM.

mtbr member
    May 2009
    i can easily convert a bike into SS for under $10 including my labor charge(hahaha $6)

take the existing cassete apart, find the cog you want, make spacers out of PVC, install spacers and cog, tighten it down, re-install chain, fit ghost ring, DONE!!!

i sometimes do this for people

mtbr member
    Sep 2008