Which cogs? $$- Mtbr.com

Thread: Which cogs? $$

mtbr member
    Nov 2014

Which cogs? $$

I have Surly cogs now....a 17, 19, and 21. I have the 21 on my fatbike and the 19 on my 29er.

At $30 a piece they're a bit much.

Any recommendations for a decent cog that doesn't cost an arm and a leg?

mtbr member
    I'm no expert but, from what I've seen, anything cheaper than $25 or so is going to be a thin, stamped steel cog. While that may work for you, I've read that they are tough on aluminum freehub bodies due to high forces being applied to such a small part of the freehub.

All the wider cogs (Niner, Surly, Chris King, Absolutely Black, etc.) seem to be right in that $30-$40 range.

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    Gusset and On One have been the cheapest wide base cogs I've seen. I've never used either though.

mtbr member
    Apr 2015
    Halo makes a wide-ass version as well.

mtbr member
    Nov 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by KevinGT View Post
    I'm no expert but, from what I've seen, anything cheaper than $25 or so is going to be a thin, stamped steel cog. While that may work for you, I've read that they are tough on aluminum freehub bodies due to high forces being applied to such a small part of the freehub.

All the wider cogs (Niner, Surly, Chris King, Absolutely Black, etc.) seem to be right in that $30-$40 range.
    At least there are options, I suppose!

I've had good luck with On One Groove Armada. Bought them a couple of years ago for $12, but gone up since then.

On-One Groove Armada Single Speed Sprocket | Planet X

But I usually stick to either Surly or Endless cogs.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Not cheap but I love Endless cogs.

mtbr member
    May 2014
    A friend of mine said he put over 10000 miles on a Chris King cog. Surly is what I have and I am sure it would last forever as well. When they aren't wearing out that fast why worry about $30? Just curious

local trails rider
    Quote Originally Posted by stremf View Post