Coaster Brake Cassette idea- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2009

Coaster Brake Cassette idea

Somebuddy needs to design and manufacture one. Maybe Forward Components would like to take a stab at this? That way you can still use your existing or preferred hub and still run you preferred gear and not have rim or disc brakes for a nice clean look Oh and no more having to adjust for the brakes in a horizontal dropout frame.

If some one does manufacture it, I'd be happy to work on it's aesthetics and/or design for marketing. I'd be willing to donate my time for free I'm a graphic designer and would be more than happy to contribute to a project like this!

Cheers,
    Ray

mtbr member
    I'm not sure I really understand exactly how this would work. Are you talking about a cassette hub or a freewheel hub? There wouldn't be anyway to do that on a cassette hub because backwards pressure on the freehub disengages the drive mechanism, hence the ability to coast. A standard wheelhub would not work with this either because backwards pressure would unscrew the freewheel. You would have to use a fixie hub with a lockring that prevents unscrewing.

Functionally I don't think I would want it either... I find ratcheting my pedals (repeatedly backpedaling then cranking forward in small amounts) to be an important tool in riding tricky technical sections. (I enjoy riding fixed also, which obviously doesn't allow that either, but I'm in a whole different mindset when I attempt fixed offroad). Then again, I shouldn't knock it unless I've tried it

master blaster
    coaster brake hubs cannot handle alot of heavy duty riding and im sure creating a coaster brake hub with 3-5 speeds is quite possible. but is it practical?....no.
    the driver would have a direct body with your mixture of cogs.