Chainring Question- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Chainring Question

Hi all,
    please bear with me because I am still learning the proper terminology.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Notice how the spider in the circled area is nearly close to the valley on the chain ring.
    How much clearance is need to not effect the chain?
    Will this chain ring work on this crank?
    if not, how do avoid making the same mistakes when buying the next chain ring?

thanks,

chs

All 26.5" all the time!
    Wrap the chain around the ring and check the clearance. Odds are you'll have plenty.

Mtbr Forum Sponsor - Homebrewed Components
    Jul 2006
    that's more of a crank problem than a chainring problem. All 32t chainrings (or whatever tooth count you choose) will have the same chain/spider clearance as the next ring, unless you change the tooth count. You can file a little flat for clearance on there if need be. Most cranks have less material than that, so you should be fine. What crank/ring is that? How many teeth?

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by ISuckAtRiding
    that's more of a crank problem than a chainring problem. All 32t chainrings (or whatever tooth count you choose) will have the same chain/spider clearance as the next ring, unless you change the tooth count. You can file a little flat for clearance on there if need be. Most cranks have less material than that, so you should be fine. What crank/ring is that? How many teeth?

thanks

hey --

you saved me a PM. I was just looking at your site. Very nice looking stuff.

The crankset is a Bontrager giga-x-pipe 7050 that I bought recently. I don't know the model but it has a 5 bolt design. The chainring was
    given to me so I am uncertain the make and model. That chainring is 40T which is fine for me playing bike mechanic and learning about how to build drive trains etc.

I may just try to sell the crankset and buy a truvativ stylo 1.1 since so many people have