Chain tensioning- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Chain tensioning

Hi guys,

I am rather new to the idea of running a SS on a MTB although I have rode fixie myself many years ago such as BMX and other urban bikes.

One thing I do not quite understand is when you guys chang rear cogs to suit different riding style (for a suitable gear ratio)how do you manage the chain slack or chain being too short when you move up or down the rear gear numbers?

I am planning to run a FC ebb which allow 15mm or 0.5 inch of chain tensioning.
    For example, IF I am running a ratio of 32-16 now and does that means the chain will be too short or too long when I change my rear cog?

mtbr member
    May 2005
    You can try to use the same chain by dropping the same number of teeth on one end that you add to the other end. For instance, if you wanted a harder gear you could go 33/15 and you might not have to modify your chain. But the best answer is to use a SRAM chain with a powerlink and just have different chain lengths for different gear ratios.

mtbr member
    Or use a tensioner. Will allow you more chain slack untensioned, making changing gearing easier until you decide on the gear you are happy to run.

The need for singlespeed
    No disrespect, but I don't think anyone who wants to run a FC EBB would consider a tensioner. This is probably the solution the OP's looking for.

I run a FC EBB. I wanted to gear 32/18 w/o a half-link but it wouldn't tension at any point in its, er, eccentricity. So I'm running 32/17. In my experimentation, I could see that 32/18 would have worked had I used a half-link.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Hi,

I am it sure if you were replying to me but what I was trying to ask around is assuming I am running a FC EBB. How do one actually cope with the change of rear cog? Do I need to prepare a couple of chain all the time to cater to the change?

Bro
    Content from my avatar