Thread: Chain Tension?

Just Joshin' ya!

Chain Tension?

This might seem like a stupid question, but how much tension should I have in my chain? I have horizontal dropouts, so no chain tensioner is needed, but is it possible to over tension the chain by pulling too hard on the rear wheel (or tightening the screws that push the axle back too much)? Am I supposed to keep it pretty tight or should there be any slack? Sorry, I am a total newb to this singlespeed thing. I am totally into it though.

Just for context, I have a Voodoo Nakisi Monstercross bike.
    Getting a dropper post is like getting a bidet. I didn't know I needed one until I get one and boy, does my ass thank me.

Bro
    Content from my avatar
    Too much tension means too much friction. Some people say it kills the bearings, I just say it's really, really hard to pedal that way. And probably not good for the bearings too.

Tension the chain tight enough so that it doesn't drop while you're riding, and loose enough so that there's no binding through the cranks' rotation.
    Sometimes, I question the value of my content.

~Disc~Golf~
    1/2" (1" total) deflection for a 'typical' 26" wheel'd frame is a good rule IMO A bit less for BMX. -a bit more for 29r.

Really, it should feel kinda loose-ish, but not so loose that bumps would jar the chain off a ring...A good chain-line really helps.

-If you can come close to 'derailing' the chain by hand; it's too loose.
    Honestly... ahh I give up

mtbr member
    1/2 inch deflection in the middle of the chain is about right, and make sure you're pedaling it and checking to ensure it's loose enough at the tightest spot in the chain.
    Draft College Republicans

Ovaries on the Outside