Chain tension- Mtbr.com

Thread: Chain tension

mtbr member
    Feb 2005

Chain tension

Hi

I'm kinda new to the whole singlespeed up-keep and my chain is coming off under load. I don't think anything is needing replaced just yet but I'm wondering what adjustments can be made? I have a chain tensioner, do you move the bolt along as at the moment it is in the middle and it looks like you can undo it to adjust.

Sorry newbie

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    anyone?

mtbr member
    got pics of the bike setup?

Out spokin'
    Could be chain tension... or lack thereof. My chain derails frequently whenever I let it get too loose.

Could also be bad chainline. If the chainring and cog don't occupy the same plane, the chain will constantly be motivated to derail.

Very hard to discern the latter without actually having the bike in one's possession to study. Photos usually won't cut it.

Also check for bent teeth on ring & cog &/or twisted/bent sections of chain.

Finally, don't know what kind of ring & cog you're using, but hopefully they're SS-specific, not pinned/ramped for use with gears. The latter are designed to encourage lateral chain movement.

--Sparty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

trail rat
    To add to what Sparty said, ramped teeth and bad chainline are double trouble. Chainline, chainline, chainline.

As to tension, as tight as you can get without binding. There is almost always some eccentricity to cogs / chainrings, so spin the drivetrain to see where the tightest spot is and make sure it is not binding at that point.

It is a trial and error thing for awhile. I find that running the cranks round and round slowly by hand with the bike in the stand, I get a feel for binding.
    "The physician heals, Nature makes well" - real fortune cookie

CCCMB trail work for trail access - SLO, CA

mtbr member
    Feb 2005