Chain Derailing Issues- Mtbr.com
    Ahhh the pain....

Chain Derailing Issues

All,
    I've been riding Single Speeds exclusively for like 5 years. Being a mechanical engineer that is a little OCD, I use my calipers and measure the crap out of stuff to be sure my chainline is solid. I've had the occasional chain derailing that typically I can blame on a worn chain. In other words (I run an oval AB chairing BTW), the lateral flexibility is higher on a worn chain and the lower length (not in tension) wiggles side to side more and climbs off the rear cog. AB oval rings naturally have a little tension variation and it seems like every time the derailing happens at the cog and when I'm full gas on some bouncy bit of uphill trail.
    Here are my thoughts...please feel free to share yours...
    1) The rear cog(running a Stainless Steel Wolf Tooth) flexes a little but doesn't have much in the way of chamfers on the tooth sides. In the stand, I can push the chain with my fingers and with little pressure get it to derail.
    2) Do some chains have more chamfers on the side plates? gotta figure that under a bunch of bouncy stuff, the slot on the chain is trying to find the tooth on the cog....chamfers help that rendevous to happen... running KMC 8.93 chains.
    3) Seems like tension doens't matter too much...obviously, first reaction is to tension is up, but that doesn't seem to help.

thoughts?

mtbr member
    I've always used singlespeed chains(lately 3/32 kmc 610HX), have never experienced this problem even with a loose chain, loose enough to hit the chainstay.
    Canfield Riot SS
    ROS9+ SS
    ROS9 SS
    GT Peace 9R SS

Out spokin'