Carbon or Ti Bars for rigid??- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Carbon or Ti Bars for rigid??

Hey All,

I just started riding rigid and was wondering which handlebar material would provide the best dampening characteristics.

I could not find a post about this, so any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

I am trying decide between something like a Ragley Carnegie, Ti Groovey or BS custom bar to meet similar characteristics.

The bike is a one9 with a waltworks fork and steel groovey Luv handles and all of my riding is in Colorado, so a mix of types of terrain.

Thanks!

Ovaries on the Outside
    Tough crowd today. I'm not much help because I didn't notice much of a difference from riding on my bike with aluminum bars versus carbon fiber.

I've heard great things about Carnegies.

Hopefully more people chip in- I'd be interested in hearing some opinions myself.

mtbr member
    grip and glove choice will matter more.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    I can't offer much input on carbon because I'm an old luddite, and thus scared of the stuff. However, using the same glove / grip combination, I noticed a huge difference when going from aluminum bars to the BS ti bars that are on my bike now. The same was true of switching from an alu' bar to the ti flat trackers on my rigid fat chance. I'm sold on titanium as a handlebar material.

mtbr member
    Thanks!

What grip and glove combo's would you recommend.

Currently I ride with Ergon GC3 bar ends with the softer GR grip, so I do prefer bar ends of some sort.

Ovaries on the Outside
    You'd have to do a search, as the opinions really vary on gloves and especially on grips. While we're at it, tires and psi make a difference, as does a suspension fork....

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ccornacc
    Currently I ride with Ergon GC3 bar ends with the softer GR grip, so I do prefer bar ends of some sort.