Calling all off road fixers-please help- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Calling all off road fixers-please help

I have been riding fixed for the last 2 months on a ENOized Rocky Blizzard and I am loving it. I have a line on a 29er SS frame that a custom builder built that is my size and will work well with a midge bar (high front end & shorter top tube). He will build me a custom fork to match. I run a lone Hayes hydro on the Blizz right now and it seems to work good but I wonder if a V-brakes would be good enough? There is not a lot of mud where I ride, sand the summer and snow in the winter. Discs or V's? I have an existing road wheelset for road rides and get another wheelset for mountain biking but the disc has good modulation when things start to get out of hand. Also is there any disadvantage to a 29er off road fixie over a 26"? I only ask beacuse I have never ridden a 29er but I can see the benifits to bigger wheels. Thanks for any input.

drev-il, not Dr. Evil!
    Quote Originally Posted by Higbee
    There is not a lot of mud where I ride, sand the summer and snow in the winter. Discs or V's?
    Discs. Less hand effort, and noticeably less affected by snow/ice than Vs.

Quote Originally Posted by Higbee
    Also is there any disadvantage to a 29er off road fixie over a 26"?
    IMHO, no.
    "Keep your burgers lean and your tires fat." -h.d. | ssoft | flickr

mtbr member
    Aug 2003

BB height benefitial

Having larger wheels will give you better BB clearance...a plus when cornering the tight stuff....Fixedoffroad is totally a focused ride....ya gotta love it!

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    Disc, especially if you run Midges. Get some Dia-compe 287-V lever(s) and you are set. On long, technical descents, a front disc is crucial, at least for me. Saves the knees for the rest of the ride. Also, one finger activation. Although I rarely use it, it's nice to have a finger on there just in case.
    -Dom

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Thanks for the input