Bike consolidation: Which SS to get?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2011

New question here. Bike consolidation: Which SS to get?

Alright guys, as taboo as this sounds, I want to consolidate bikes (yes, this means getting rid of a few). Reasoning is because I don't ride all of them and they are just taking up time and space. What I find myself on most is an old hodge-podge aluminum singlespeed (w/ Singleator) with a rigid aluminum fork. I love riding SS and our local trails allow for it, but this one beats me up and is regularly dropping a gear.

So, I'd like to replace a few bikes and get a nice SS that will last me for years. I am still a bit of an ounce-counter, but the steel bikes have a certain allure to me (realistically if I can build up a large-framed bike from 20-24lbs. I'll be happy). I am looking for an XC feel, as I already have a ROS9, and I am drawn towards the Niner SIR9, but I dont want a slack head angle on a SS, so maybe the previous gen would work.

I am new to the SS market, so what's out there? I definitely want it to be rigid, but I don't want to be beat up too bad, that's why I am drawn towards steel with a carbon fork. What would you guys do?

Thanks,
    Bryan

mtbr member
    If you're going rigid, I'd go B+ or 29+. What's your budget? Whole bike or building up from a frame?
    Bikes, lots'o bikes

mtbr member
    over the past few years I have owned:
    • small Karate Monkey (older one with the straight steerer tube, too small for me, shoud have bought a 18"

• OG Vassago Jabberwocky, small. hated it for some reason

• another small KM, didn't learn my lesson the first time!

• Soma Juice- medium, loved this bike. should not have sold it. always bothered me that the chainstays were no shorter than 17.5" rode this for about two years.