Best SS 29er crank--money no object!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2008

Cool-blue Rhythm Best SS 29er crank--money no object!

Hey all,
    If you were building the 29er Single speed of your dreams and wanted the lightest, stiffest crank to fit that oversize BB, what would you have? The Raceface Next SL fits the bill, but needs a bashguard, the Specialized S-Works is sweet, as is the FSA. What are your thoughts?

thanks--

Birthday Collector
    Not sure that an Oversize BB would be on the SS of my dreams - maybe an eccentric - I really like the look of that Fifteen G crank. Trick crank/spindle interface and it looks nicely made. Middleburn would possibly be there too, or a White Bros. Something a bit different, but wouldn't get too crazy spendy, as cranks and rocks tend to interact once in a while...
    R.I.P. Corky 10/97-4/09
    Disclaimer: I sell and repair bikes for a living

mtbr member
    well if your looking at a frame that will work with the Spec S-Works cranks it your only option!

give us some more info, what frame are you using? what is your BB? is it 68mm?, 73mm?, BB30? or OSBB30?

for the record I have 15g 180mm on my single speed and love them, not the lightest but pretty darn stiff
    Quote Originally Posted by thefuzzbl
    aluminium has a tendency to fail when you need it most. i.e. you end up with a bad day.

mtbr member
    As little bike as possible, as silent as possible.
    Latitude: 5736' Highlands, Scotland

Singletrack Slayer
    I love my Noir carbon cranks and would love a single speed version form my SS 29er dream bike. Light and stiff
    ~~~~~~Singletrack Slayer~~~~~~~

i don't give a shift
    Rotor's 2x9 3D cranks:

I'm gonna have to kill ya
    Everyone has different goals

I bought my "dream" cranks for my current build which was some weight weenie KCNC jobies, although the lightening cranks posted recently in the WW form look nice (KCNC look nicer IMHO)

mtbr member
    Dec 2008