Best overall SS rear hub ? ? ?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Best overall SS rear hub ? ? ?

What is the best overall SS rear hub? I would like to find something that is durable and light. I am interested in the DT Swiss 240 bolt-on and the Hope Pro II bolt-on hubs.

Also, has anyone tried the new Stan's 355 wheels yet? Any good?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by single speed kid
    What is the best overall SS rear hub?
    There is no answer for this question. I have been very happy with my Hope Pro II SS hub but that does not mean it is the best overall. You won't go wrong with the HPII and that is all I can tell you with certainty. I have no experience with the DT 240 Singlespeed hub but I have the 240's on my road bike and think they are a great product. I would look at pricing, I think you will save a pretty penny with the Hope hubs over the DT's and if it were me that would guide my decision between these two excellent hubs.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Hope has a great mix of cost, bling, and engagement. The one negative is it is pretty loud, but I actually like it, makes it so people can hear me around the trail.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    DT Swiss 240 is what I'm going to go with. Light, strong, expensive. Perfect. I'll probably get the engagement upgrade as well.

mtbr member
    hope pro II SS and replace the stock 6mm allen bolts with some 15mm hex bolts from your local hardware store.

Monocog Masher
    What about Chris King ISO? Where does that fit into the mix?

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Merost
    What about Chris King ISO? Where does that fit into the mix?
    Heavy.

mtbr member
    A Phil Wood Kiss Off, White Industries or Paul Word hub with a White Industries free wheel would be my choice.
    I only ride bikes to fill the time when I'm not skiing.

jk
    mtbr member

Heavy???

Quote Originally Posted by Schmucker
    Heavy.