mtbr member
    Just do it. I`ve ridden close to a 1000km on a RSS (road-single-speed) and it was an eyeopening experience even though my bike wasn`t fixed.
    WTB: Ritchey Plexus
    DiNotte 200 lights

automobiliana.blogspot.se

Pinball Wizard
    Jan 2004

Anyone ride gears on the road?

Hi,

I've been riding singlespeed offroad for a few years now, almost exlcusively. I'd like to get a road bike of sorts, but never reall having one that fit, or for an extended period of time, I'm not sure what to look for.

Something like an Il Pompino or the new Bianchi is very appealing -- light, simple. But, I have heard locals who ride singlespeed offroad comment that they wouldn't want to ride singlespeed on the road, unless it was fixed.

Not really sure what I am hoping to accomplish by posting this, but I'd like to hear some other opinions experience.

Thanks,

Colin
    death is a star.

Sweep the leg!
    Depnding on the terrain in your area a single speed road bike should work if you gear it correctly for your needs. Otherwise, there's no shame in having a good quality multi gear road or cyclocross bike as an option to singling it.

Bianchi, Redline, Lemond, and others I can't think of all make nice cross bikes you could be happy with.

Just Give'r!
    i'm guilty of running gears on the road- an 06 trek madone 5.2 sl is my ride. I like the options for hammering out sprints, taking super tough climbs and spinnin the lactic acid out of my legs. that being said, i've ridden a mtb single speed w/slicks on a 100km ride and it was a lot of fun. Don't plan on any competitive group rides or anything with a road s/s obviously, but there is room for one, definitely. just another excuse to own multiple bikes.

Retro Grouch

As I said before...

Quote Originally Posted by erol/frost
    Just do it. I`ve ridden close to a 1000km on a RSS (road-single-speed) and it was an eyeopening experience even though my bike wasn`t fixed.
    Using gears is like re-discovering your ex-wife.