Anyone Missing rides due to SS?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Anyone Missing rides due to SS?

I'm new to riding and bought a Monocog for my first bike. I'm having loads of fun on it but there are hills I end up walking some on no prob I can deal with that. Last week my buddies went on a ride that was mostly straight up a long, Long, steep hill. I know a lot of you could make the hill on your SS but I know I would have been a walking SOB. Next time they go I'll probably not go with them on that particular ride.

Anyone miss out on rides that just are bigger than your ability? At this point it looks like I either put gears on my bike or skip rides. Other options?

Brandon
    There's always money in the banana stand.

Rusting Steel
    I have found that if I am walking my SS in most cases I'd be walking my geared bike.

It sounds like you have your gearing set too high. I run 34x18 and find it works perfect for me in the Smokies, Pisgah, Colorado, etc... I tend to get spun out faster than the 2:1 ers on flats, but all in all it's a good gearing for me. My friend will push a 33x19 or a 32x19 sometimes on hillier rides.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    No, not at all. In most cases I can walk/ride my bike up any climb as fast as most of the group.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

mtbr member
    If it's really that long a steep then they will be spinning up the hill in their granny gears, going much slower than you. So you stand up and power up the hill as far as yo ucan go, when you run out of steam, then stop or walk to recover a little, by the time they catch up, repeat.