Am I setup right?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Am I setup right?

Need some help here.. I sold my FS Titus frame and used the parts for a new 19in explosif. I've been riding the FS for years and am used to the feel of the bike and want to be sure I am positioned correct on the Kona so I don't trash my knees or back.. Anything glaringly wrong with my form? It feels OK I suppose but again it's my first time on a HT in 6 years... Thanks...
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Your seat height looks about right.
    However, you seem very upright on the bike.
    Do you have a riser bar on it?
    Might want to consider a flat bar if you do.
    Or, a longer/lower stem if you find the front end wanting to come up on climbs.
    Lenny

Duckin' Fonuts.
    Dec 2005
    How tall is you? Looking at that from here on my couch I would say you need a longer stem and to raise the seat about 3-4 cm. Your right knee is at a pretty acute angle at the top of your pedal stroke and your left leg is far from fully extended. I agree that you are sitting fairly upright too. My very first hunch is that a 20" frame may have been a better choice. Judging by your fit and frame size I would be willing to bet you inseam is near 33" and you are a about 6'1.5"

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Nonracerrichie
    How tall is you? Looking at that from here on my couch I would say you need a longer stem and to raise the seat about 3-4 cm. Your right knee is at a pretty acute angle at the top of your pedal stroke and your left leg is far from fully extended. I agree that you are sitting fairly upright too. My very first hunch is that a 20" frame may have been a better choice. Judging by your fit and frame size I would be willing to bet you inseam is near 33" and you are a about 6'1.5"
    I agree with the knee comment (though I don't know how I look on a bike). Are those 175mm cranks? A setback seatpost would help with the short TT.

mtbr member