853 frames for fg?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2004

853 frames for fg?

looking for a list of 853 frames with horizontal dropouts. i love the jamis dragon, but the vertical drops - more specifically chain tension - have become an issue now that i'm riding it fg. and i have no experience w ecc bb - are they strong enough to handle fg mtnbiking?

thanks.

edit: 26", please.
    ride fast...take chances...

Dinner for wolves
    Were the Gunnar SS frames 853? I can't fully recall. In any case why limit yourself to 853?
    Responds to gravity

Apr 2007
    Simple solution = ENO rear hub on the Jamis.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    check out the new Dragon One, its frame only, has Paragon style dropouts, I saw one at inter bike, Its a very nice frame. and it is 853.https://www.Jamisbikes.com/usa/thebi...none_frame.jpg

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    i have several bikes - i really like the way the 853 handles. and i could go eno, but i have a bunch of small, silly reasons i don't want to do that, from wanting to stay w/ the hub/rim that matches the front (king/flow) to seeing a couple eno hubs blow up on the trail in the middle of nowhere, etc. i'll check out that frame some more - thanks!

having said that, i am entertaining all options. an 853 frame - if i can find one at a decent price - is the first.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    If you don't mind doing an ENO hub or the forwrd components Standard shell EBB, I have a Large MCR with less than a year of riding on it I am willing to part with.

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by trevrev97 View Post
    If you don't mind doing an ENO hub or the forwrd components Standard shell EBB, I have a Large MCR with less than a year of riding on it I am willing to part with.
    mcr?

the forward components ebb doesn't appear to work w sq taper.

Apr 2007
    MCR is a Niner product. You're looking for 26", so doesn't apply.

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    nor am i looking for a complete bike....

mtbr member