34t vs Rotor- Mtbr.com

Thread: 34t vs Rotor

Gigantic Hawk

34t vs Rotor

The background first,
    I started riding ss with 32x20 which I soon swapped to 32x18. I then switched to a 34t Rotor ring and a 19t WI freewheel which I ran for an entire season. This season I have been running 34x19. I have done much of the same trails, and one race with all three setups.

The Rotor ring comes as a 34 tooth ring. In reality, it is more like a 36t in the power zone, and a 32t in the dead zone to average out to a 34 tooth. The ring has three different positions that it can be placed in depending on your requirements. I didn't notice a whole lot of difference in either position, but my knees felt better in the easiest setting. The ring is well constructed, and I never lost my chain due to running it slightly slack. I did find it to be a hard gear to push on the techy, punchy trails here in Maine. It's great for flowing singletrack, and quick uphills, but it burns me out over long distances. I also found I was more likely to hit it on things since it is slightly bigger than I was used too. The 32t dead spot is nice on hills to help get my feet around, but I find the 36t power zone to be draining.

This year I switched to a standard 34t ring (with the same 19t WI trials freewheel.) I like this combo better. My legs and knees like this combo too. The biggest difference is that the pedaling is less tiring, and more consistent. By being able to keep the same pedaling motion, I can catch a little break instead of always pushing through the power zone. I used this combo at this year's Single Speed-A-Palooza (last year I used the Rotor ring,) and while I didn't much better, I felt much better.

What does this all mean? Honestly, I don't know. The comparison is slightly flawed when gear inches are brought into the equation. I base everything off of 32x18 since I feel that is the ideal gearing for Maine.

On my bike, 32x18 equals 51.8 gear inches.