32:16 versus 32:17- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004

32:16 versus 32:17

How different is a 32:17 to a 32:16?

Is it noticable or would I need to change to 32:18 to feel a noticable difference?

I'm new to MTB as well as SS and want to concentrate on learning how to ride in general on the trails, and the 32:16 is just slightly too tough at the end of the climbs. (Close but not quite. I'll change back later.) I have horizontal dropouts on my SASS so chain tension is not an issue.

Not a regular
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by SOLO_ONE

Is it noticable or would I need to change to 32:18 to feel a noticable difference?

I'm new to MTB as well as SS and want to concentrate on learning how to ride in general on the trails, and the 32:16 is just slightly too tough at the end of the climbs. (Close but not quite. I'll change back later.) I have horizontal dropouts on my SASS so chain tension is not an issue.
    Very much noticeable. If a 32:16 is just too much, I think you will like the 32:17 a lot. No sense killing yourself.

Cold. Blue. Steel.

agreed

Quote Originally Posted by ssmike
    Very much noticeable. If a 32:16 is just too much, I think you will like the 32:17 a lot. No sense killing yourself.
    depending on the terrain where you live, 2 to 1 can be a bit tough. especially if you are just starting out on SS.
    2 to 1 is just an easy benchmark to go by when setting up your bike for something that should work well in a variety of riding conditions. don't bother tweeking your knees or back with too big of a gear. experiment and then you will know what is best for you.
    Spinning and Grinning...

mtbr member

sass ?

have any pictures of your sass ??

mtbr member

2:1 can be a bit much...

...I was running 32:18 on my 26" SS and just transferred all the goods to my 29er SS - approximately equivalent to 2:1 gearing on a 26" bike.