29er gearing. need suggestions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

29er gearing. need suggestions

Just started riding SS mtb last year. Ive really been enjoying it so far. The only issue ive been having is selecting the right gearing. Ive tried 32-20 and 34-20 on my 29er. Im riding in Michaux State Forest in South Central PA where most of the riding is more technical than vertical. Any suggestions for an optimum gearing?

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    i am new to ss and i am runnin 32-20 untill i can handle an 18 in the back, New Mexico is just as much technical as it is vertical.
    If its flat where you ride put on a higher gear out back. Your big wheels should roll over pretty much anything with enough speed.
    Last edited by Utilityman; 04-22-2011 at 08:52 PM.

mtbr member

I run 33/20 on a 29er

I run 33/20 (29er) and find it perfect for the trails with lots of climbs. When it is a flat course with <1000' climbing per 15 miles then i will go to 19. I find that when i'm spinning with 33/18 and going too fast for most singletrack. 33/20 is what i used on Butte 100 last year and didn't have to walk more that 10% of the course!

mtbr member
    Dec 2010

Walking

drMP, I am fairly new to SS, have been riding SS for about a year. I have done several races locally in FL, and even won one race in the open masters class against guys with gears. I am doing my first 100 next weekend on SS and have been wrestling with gearing. My indecision comes from the whole walking scenario. In other words, I know what I can ride with what gear and I am somewhat familiar with the course as I have raced this race with gears in the past. As I make my gear choice ( I think I have already made up my mind) how much walking should I plan on doing? You mention walking 10%. I am thinking of gearing where I won't have to walk that much. Should I gear a little less so I can't mash up all the hills? Thanks for your opinion.
    check out my blog:
    www.flatslide.blogspot.com