2010 Kona Unit 2-9 OR 2010 Redline Monocog Flight 29er- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2009

2010 Kona Unit 2-9 OR 2010 Redline Monocog Flight 29er

Hello,
    I am new to 29ers and SS, so I am posting this in the Single Speed and the 29er Forum.
    Can I get some input to help me decide? My budget is about $1020. This is a huge chunk of change for me.
    Due to budget and local availability, I have decided on one of the following options:
    '10 Redline Monocog Flight 29er - MSRP $899 (shop price is $999)
    '10 Kona Unit 2-9 - MRSP $799 (shop price is $799)

A local shop had a 19" '09 Monocog Flight to ride, but it was a bit too small. It felt nice though. The other shop doesn't have a Unit to test ride.

I decided against the Monocog 29er - MSRP $499 (shop price is $550) because I would prefer to just have decent components to begin with, and the brakes would have to go right away. I know I could get the Monocog and $470 in upgades, but I don't want to deal with it.

Intended use is muddy, wet, and snowy trails and probably some extended rocky rides. I may decide to ride SS more often than not, but I haven't done much yet. There are some rocky local trails that rigid would probably destroy me, so I have some concerns about the Unit. I'm a pretty heavy guy (235 lbs with gear and 6'2".)

1. I hear the Unit's P2 fork is unforgiving.
    2. Unit frame looks a bit weak in the HT area.
    3. Unit frame not the equivalent of the Reynold's 853 steel, probably similar to the steel on the Monocog.
    4. Earlier Unit frames were cracking.
    5. Paint on Unit chips off easily?
    6. Unit frame flexes too much?

1. Issues with the Flight are cheap headset?
    2. The Flight frame weaker? (but lighter) than the Monocog frame.

I would get whichever bike is the better value (I'm guessing that the Unit is.) Does anybody think the Flight is a better value at its MSRP than the Unit?