Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Jumps+Trail riding uphill+inexpensive

2K views 21 replies 21 participants last post by  Saladin 
#1 ·
I just recently bought a Trek X-Calibur 7 hardtail. I love it! The only problem is I feel it is too nice and would take a hard beating if I took it through the downhill trail. I live near a place where I trail ride uphill about 4 miles where the downhill trail is at the top. I would love to build a bike that can take me up hill and take the beating given by the downhill trail. I want to build it so I can learn the dynamics of the bike. Does anyone know what type of bike I would need? I am a college student so I cannot afford $2000 worth of parts. I simply need something functional to take me uphill+something I can thrash around on downhill. Thanks

#3 ·
I'm no expert so take this with a grain of salt but I would offer a few pieces of advice.

1. Your hardtail is probably more durable than you think and can probably take a downhill beating pretty well... You won't have as much traction as a FS and your body will take more of a beating but I seriously doubt you would do any damage to the bike unless you're doing 3ft + drops.
2. To build a bike at that price is going to require patience and a lot of scouring the Internet for deals - classifieds, unsold models of older parts, etc. Definitely possible though.
3. You may want to consider buying just a new frame and moving all the parts you currently have over. This will get you different geometry and full suspension plus you'll need to take apart and put back together your current bike. Just make sure that the frame you get is compatible with your current parts. Things to check include bottom bracket, headset, and fork travel length.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#14 ·