Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Beginner Here.

2K views 34 replies 8 participants last post by  Dragith 
#1 · (Edited)
I haven't ridden a bike since middle school. I'm now 25. A friend and I are looking to get into mountain biking. I'd like to start out with XC to build my endurance, but eventually I'd like to move into DH.

Would this be a decent bike for XC and DH? Is that a good price? My price max is around $1500.

I'm 5'7 and I live in south jersey if it matters.

Thanks.

Fuji Reveal 2.0

#2 ·
Guys should chime in with some specific advice on bikes to look at (that one seems kind of pricey to me, but others will know better).

I can tell you if you really want to get into DH, you're going to need something much burlier. You could probably get down a mountain on that bike a few times n a pinch, but XC and DH are apples and oranges. Mountain Creek would kill it in pretty short order if you took it there regularly, and it wouldn't be much fun compared to a more dedicated gravity bike. If you're really thinking this is something you're going to get into, before buying a bike, I'd go and rent one and try it out. The 'right' recommendation for you is going to have a lot to do with how much you want to concentrate on lift riding vs trail riding. (The best solution is 2 bikes.)

#3 ·
I think the old axiom of using the right tool for the job sums it up best. This would be like asking for a race car that would be competitive in both WRC and NASCAR.... If your looking for a trail bike or all mountain expect to give up some capabilities on both ends of the spectrum.

#4 ·
I think you should get an XC bike, ride it like hell, rent a DH bike and then see if you want to keep the XC or swap out for a DH. Really though, I don't know too much. That just seems like a logical progression to me. Downhill is supposedly harder, but I find that XC is plenty challenging (I kinda suck at off-road cycling).

#6 ·