Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

What kind of bike do I need?

4K views 42 replies 18 participants last post by  choppages 
#1 ·
This is a complete newb post, so I apologize for my limited knowledge. Just need some expert advice/help here. I ride paved and unpaved rail trails and do not mind riding a little rough terrain with climbs and drops (sloping, not steep/vertical), so I feel I need a hardtail mountain bike. I have tried a hybrid bike on unpaved (hard packed) rail trail, and know that is not something that will work for me. Today, I went to a mountain bike park, and discovered that riding downhill on foot-wide tracks is also not my cup of tea (at this age). So, I know I do not need a full suspension/DH bike either. Now, given my style of riding, would entry-level 29er hardtail (with suntour fork) costing 500-600 bucks be sufficient, or do I "need" a better fork (RockShok) which cost in 1K+ range?

Another issue is about sizing. With the kind of riding I do, would a medium or a large suit me better? I am 5'10.5" with 34" inseam. I have been told (by friends and also read on this forum) that for mountain biking I should get medium, but all the local shops I have been to here, have put me on 19" frame (large). Surprisingly, an XL frame seemed most comfortable (in the parking lot), but the shop people say no way I can "fit" on XL frame. So I am really confused.

Am I correct in my assessment that I need a hardtail? Is there any other type that I should be looking at? Any insights to the above questions would be appreciated.

See less See more
#2 ·
Not sure if this will clear much up besides a few of your misconceptions. First full suspension does not mean only down hill, in fact full suspension work better in most instances climbing than hard tails. As a fellow new rider I would look at models with air shocks and solid hydraulic brakes, the shifters and derailers at this price point will be OK and will work OK too.