Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Is it worth upgrading

1K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  kapusta 
#1 ·
Hello all,

I have a 2007 Specialized rock hopper FSR. I am in my first year riding and have ridden the crap out of it this season. It is mostly cross country with a little downhill.

Now after a season of riding I want an upgrade.

My bike was nearly new when I bought it(never used by the previous owner. The only thing it did not have is disc brakes. If I upgrade to them including wheels it would be about $600 cdn. I figure I can sell it for as is for about $400-450 which take me to the $1k range For another $500-$1000 I was thinking I could get a new bike. I was looking in the $1500-200 range

The problem is I am not sure that will get me much more than I have other than new.

My option is to ride it another year and take a big leap to the over $3-4K range.

Thanks

C

#3 · (Edited)
Hello all,

I have a 2007 Specialized rock hopper FSR. I am in my first year riding and have ridden the crap out of it this season. It is mostly cross country with a little downhill.

Now after a season of riding I want an upgrade.

My bike was nearly new when I bought it(never used by the previous owner. The only thing it did not have is disc brakes. If I upgrade to them including wheels it would be about $600 cdn. I figure I can sell it for as is for about $400-450 which take me to the $1k range For another $500-$1000 I was thinking I could get a new bike. I was looking in the $1500-200 range

The problem is I am not sure that will get me much more than I have other than new.

My option is to ride it another year and take a big leap to the over $3-4K range.

Thanks

C
Well, in the end of the say it all comes down to your budget and how comfortable you are with spending that money now. I would personally wait 1 more year if I were you and buy a new $3-4k bike.

#4 ·