Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1st Bike, help with dropouts?

2K views 33 replies 8 participants last post by  0uTkAsT 
#1 ·
Actually not any issues in ur end, just not knowing is all, been there done that. Their designed that way. Just spread the forks apart while axles over the drop outs till the wheel goes on. No worries nothing wrong with u or bike. Enjoy the new bike!
Sent from my Nokia Stupid Phone using Tapatalk

#2 ·
Hi all, I'm brand new to bikes and the forum. I just got a 2014 Gravity Deadeye and I can't seem to get the front wheel on. Since it's my first bike I thought maybe I was just retarded and doing something wrong, but the more I look at pictures online to troubleshoot I'm thinking the fork might be bent?

The inner nuts on the hub (I'm assuming that lock the hub to the inner wheel?) came pre-installed and the dropouts on the fork will not go on over them. Is this a matter of adjustment or should the dropouts slide right on to the wheel?

Visually, the fork looks bent inwards pretty significantly at the bottom, but again, I'm not sure if it is supposed to be or not:

Any help is appreciated! I was really hoping to ride it over the long weekend.

#3 ·
Thanks for the super fast response! I tried what you said and went full gorilla on the fork and was finally able to get the wheel on!

Next problem I'm running in to, maybe you can shed some light on... I can't get the seat post into the frame far enough! It appears that the nut welded inside the rear frame tube for the water bottle mounting location prevents my seat post from going in the tube far enough. I'm 5'7" and need my seat down just a few inches from the top tube in order to mount the saddle properly. Right now (pictured) this is as far as I can get the seat post into the frame which is a full 6" or so higher than I'd like it to be. Is the only solution to cut the seat post? Is that even an option (i.e. safe?)

Thanks again for any and all help!! I feel like the biggest noob ever.

#4 ·