Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Why do pros turn the front wheel during jumps?

27K views 29 replies 19 participants last post by  mimi1885 
#1 ·
Is it only for show or is there actually some real reason behind it?

#10 ·
This is right. I'm a snowboard coach, and when teaching kids how to go off jumps you always emphasize to do SOMETHING in the air. It helps your body keep control, instead of potentially locking up. So, do a nose/tail poke, shifty the board 45 degress, anything to get your body doing something - even simple - helps maintain control better than just straight airs.

#5 ·
I can only say why I do it, but I'd guess it's the same for everyone (I'm not pro, but I've been riding since I was a kid, I'm now 42, and I teach kids to jump as a side gig).

reason 1 (less common): control of the bike in the air (it pays to learn how to bunnyhop). the ability to move your bike around while in midair can save you from leaking some blood upon landing. disclaimer: not all the time.

reason 2 (more common): it looks stylie. imho, there's nothing much sicker than a fully clicked turndown, so choose it if you can! I can't :( but I'll still whip and table and cross up like an old skool bob haro eddie fiola fan.

the simple answer: it's for both form and function. more often form.

#6 ·
Try it. Seriously. When I take off with the intention of doing a handlebar turn, it sort of subconsciously makes my body get into a "known/safe" take-off position. If I do nothing, things tend to get ugly and sloppy. Even doing a handlebar turn off of a curb seems to be "radder" than doing nothing. I consider it to be a jumping technique that tricks my body into taking the jump better. Maybe it might work in a similar way for you too, maybe even turning you into a "non-jumper/hucker" into a jumper/hucker enthusiast, if you aren't one already.

#15 ·
Makes sense, never heard that before.