Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Get a Kona or not get a Kona ?

3K views 23 replies 10 participants last post by  elliott436 
#1 ·
Hi , this is Ron from Bellingham Wa. I am a newbie here / and to Mountain Biking . World headquarters for Kona is 20 min. Down the freeway from me . So good / bad / any thoughts at all ? Thank You in advance ! I ride 70 street 30 trails for exercise / fun

#3 ·
I like my Kona, but it's one of the expensive ones. I know we have a couple dealers here. Jack's springs to mind.

I'm too selfish a person to buy a bike just because they're designed locally. So I'd still be looking at Trek and Specialized. (Kulshan Cycles and Fairhaven Bike.) We also have a mountain-emphasis shop, Fanatik, but I've actually never been there.

Budget's important too. At the bottom of the market, everybody's bikes have the same crappy components but some have bolt-upright geometry and some are shaped like XC bikes. In the middle of the market, everybody's XC hardtails are pretty much the same but lately there are some slacker and longer-travel hardtails going on, so you can make some choices that have a real impact on the flavor of your bike. All full-suspension frames are not created equal. And at the top of the market, some companies are doing stuff with carbon hardtails that some of the posters here swear by. I haven't got the saddle time to comment.

Point being, if you like Kona, make sure to try some. But don't limit yourself. I'd have gone with a Camber if I didn't like the Hei Hei I demoed, even though I also have an ulterior motive to like Kona.

#5 ·
I love my Kona Jake, fitted with some Kenda Happy Medium tires it can do just about anything. This bike sees mostly pavement duty, some trails and occasional singletrack when I'm feeling froggy. My MTB is also a Kona, a Kahuna that I bought last month and I don't have any complaints so far.

#7 ·