Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Can I improve my stumpjumper evo to be more suited for freeride/downhill ?

8K views 24 replies 15 participants last post by  raisingarizona 
#1 ·
Hey guys, first post here. I'm fairly new to the mountain bike scene, but I have been back riding for a few months now, and have been really enjoying it. I'm starting to gravitate more towards the freeride (tho I'm not completely sure what it is lol, I take it to be just finding a cool section of trail/jumps/drops and just riding it creatively) and some downhill stuff.

I've recently purchased a specialized stumpjumper evo comp 26inch, 2012 model I believe. I really like the bike, feels really good to ride.

My question is, what could I do to "beef it up" abit, to make it more suitable for the heavier stuff ? I'm already gonna go out and get some flat downhill peddles, and a shorter head stem (50mm ?) ...other than that I'm guessing rims and tyres would be next to look at ? Would it be worth (or even possible) to upgrade the forks and shock ? Double crown fork ?

Am I wrong in thinking any of this is a good idea ? ..keep in mind, I'm not expecting it to take what a big bike could, I just want to be able to hit a few jumps/drops that are within my limited skill level, and peace of mind for my 100kg bodyweight (220lb)...

Thanks guys !

See less See more
#3 ·
1. flat pedals aren't just for DH any more, but good start
2. I wouldn't change the wheels until the ones you have get trashed. Not sure what tires you currently run, but fatter tires could help.
3. Definite no on a dual crown fork. That bike came (I think) with a 150mm fork, and anything over 160mm is going to screw up the handling and also cause frame stress that the bike wasn't designed for (not to mention that it would probably void any warranty claims you may have in the future).
4. A shock change won't really make it DH friendly enough to justify the cost.

#7 ·