Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Caution: Blingless 5 Spot

1K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  Jaybo 
#1 ·
Thanks Larry for the frame and components. Thanks FM and Turtle 1 for the test ride hook up.

Most of the components were switched over with the exception of the all SRAM drive train, CK headset, Thomson stem, and Hope skewers.

I took her for a quick spin yesterday on some local trails (Banner Forest). The first thing I noticed was how easy it was to lift the front tire. I went from a 110 stem to a 90 and what a difference it makes. I definitely have to pay attention on the steep climbs.

The next thing I noticed was how steady and in control I felt. I am fairly new to mountain biking so I am still learning good technique but this bike just made everything seem so much easier. Talk about a confidence builder.

I need to switch out the Minute 2. It just does not go well with the RP3. It sure would be nice if I could turn the SPV on and off. I just overhauled the Minute and installed the 05 SPV Evolve assembly and Enduro seals so I’ll keep it until UGI kicks in. If I had a clear cut favorite fork to replace it with I would go ahead and pull the trigger but as of now I can’t make up my mind.

Speaking of the RP3 is in normal to be able to rotate the PP lever 360 degrees?

Here are a few pics, none from the trails. I forgot my camera in my excitement.

Attachments

See less See more
#6 ·
Blingless?

Hey dude, looks like you got your new bike; sweet. I hear you loud and clear about the fork, I didn't like mine either. To be honest, I can only see one fork on that bike and that's a Z1-FR. I think the taller A-C height on the Z-1 would compliment your frame nicely, but what do turtles know about such things.