Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Need a new rim , some good suggestions?

838 views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  Iceman2058 
#1 ·
Hey guys, so basically my rear rim is dented up pretty badly right now. I have a few more runs left on it but i would like to fix it. I run the MTX 33 rims that came on my 2012 Kona Operator . Its my fault since i let out some air pressure for the dusty loose conditions and decided to hit some rocky trechy sections and rock gardens lol .

Im around 200lbs geared up and im not the smoothiest rider also , i just started riding this year . I really like the thickness of the MTX 33 rim but i was wondering if you guys would recommend another rim ? Maybe something a little lighter just as strong? Might be a good reason to maybe build a rear wheel for now and then finish up the front later this year.. What you guys think ?

#6 ·
as a 200lb beginner you need something stout. don't focus too much on the weight. of course you don't want a boat anchor but a light rim will cause nothing but unwanted downtime and expense. you've got a lot of hard hits in your future. Have you checked some of the pre-build sets like the Azonic Outlaws? Can be had for a good price. I found myself in your situation many years ago. Bought a pair to ride out the season, "upgraded" over the winter and still have the Outlaws as a spare set. Can't tell you how many times I've lent them out. Something to consider.

#7 ·
Have you checked some of the pre-build sets like the Azonic Outlaws? Can be had for a good price. I found myself in your situation many years ago. Bought a pair to ride out the season, "upgraded" over the winter and still have the Outlaws as a spare set. Can't tell you how many times I've lent them out. Something to consider.
That's a good point. The Outlaws are hard to beat at that price point. I have a good friend who just put them on his 303 RDH and he's no beginner either.

Reactions: RTM
#3 ·