Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Zedro, Noel, or any other frame-builder type..

608 views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  knollybikes.com 
#1 ·
I have started designing my first frame. I am currently an engineering student, but I am a computer hardware engineering student, bikes are a passion. I am working on a single pivot, yes I know the drawbacks, but I think it is a good choice for a first effort. Any advice on software for turning my paper designs into computer models? I would like to try some experimenting with pivot location to see if the forces would be chanelled where I want them. I have lots of crazy ideas, and I always think I should try to make the contraptions just to see if my ideas. This time I am gonna build it. Any advice is very appreciated.
Bobby

#2 ·
designers will usually use what they learnt on, or company has, so there are going to be favorites. I use CatiaV5, lots like Solidwork, theres Inventor etc. AutoCad is ok for the 2D work. I would see what package your school uses if they have any. You'll spend alot of time just learning to use the 3D programs, i would strongly suggest taking an intro course if you can.

BTW, starting with a single pivot is a good idea; people who generally dont understand the scope of the task always try crazy multiple bar systems 'just to be different' (and of course wont be followed through). Good luck!

#3 ·
Sounds cool!

I would definitely get familiar with a 3D solid modeling program. 2D programs like Autocad are fine for working out geometries, but even the sketch mode in most 3D modelers will be way more suited for what you want to do.