Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

New to MTB & tire question

767 views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  ProjectDan35 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

First post. :thumbsup: I have checked out the forum here and there while researching getting a MTB. I'm new to mountain biking, well actually I haven't been biking for a few decades since I was a kid, but I had BMX bikes back then and did my share of pedaling.

Wanting to get into better shape, I bought a used Giant Warp to get some exercise with. It's basically stock with Hayes hydraulic disk brakes and Maxxis High Roller tires and different handlebars.

Since I am likely going to be riding quite a bit on pavement cruising the neighborhood along with some canal-side dirt road riding, I am thinking I should put some semi-slick tires on and save the knobby tires for later when I plan to check out some trails. I don't want to waste the tires that are on the bike for the kind of riding I'm likely to be doing at least at first.

First I was looking at some Kenda Kross Plus semi-slicks on Amazon that I came across and then was about to order some Maxxis High Roller SS from Airbomb, when I had a thought that prompted me to ask you guys and gals.

Since the (Maxxis) SS tires are about as pricey as the knobby ones, does it even make sense to pay for SS tires when I can instead just let the knobby ones wear down and spend the money on knobby replacements when I want to ride on some trails? The tires that are on the bike now still have tread, but I don't know how much more new ones would have and either style (knobby/SS) cost about the same.

I understand that there will be more rolling resistance from the knobby tires, but aside from that (since my point is exercise anyway), is there any advantage to SS tires over worn-down knobby ones?