Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

New rider: Cannondale RZ 123 or 124???

4K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Raaen 
#1 ·
Hello to all-
I have a question to anyone that can give me feedback. Im new to riding and I am looking at purchasing my first bike. I went down to the local shop and test rode a few; and the one that really jumped out in my favor was the Cannondale RZ One twenty 3 (2011). Obviously the bike shop would try to sell me anything I was interested in, but what is the big differences between the RZ 123 and the 124 for a new rider? I only know what I've read on the internet about the quality of the compnents and have no real "experience" putting wear and tear on them. The bike will be used to ride MB trails in NC until August when I move to the Mojave Desert at 29 Palms, Ca and ride out there. Im in the military and am in pretty good shape; and my hobbies are all the crazy stuff (parachuting, rock climbing, motorcycles, ect). So in other words: the bike will get used. I just feel overwhelmed at what there is out there, what would suit me long term, and to what degree of a thrashing the components can take before they break down. Ive always applied the thought process of "if you buy cheap then you'll have a cheap POS", so naturally I want to get a bike that I wont be dying to get rid of 2 months later because my skill level has increased.

Also- is there another bike out there that I should look at before I buy? Am I just paying for the Cannondale name? Any advise on convincing a spouse why its a good idea to drop $2000+ dollars on a MB? :D

Thanks in advance for all the help!

See less See more
#2 ·
I can't speak to that particular bike, but I am in my firstseason of riding, and I picked up a Cannondale hardtail as my first bike. I love it, it's comfortable, and seems very well built. I can only assume that the upperend Cannondales should be the same way! :thumbsup:

#3 ·