Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

First trail bike suggestions?

7K views 62 replies 15 participants last post by  kayin 
#1 · (Edited)
First trail bike

Hi all! New to the boards and new to the sport! I've done some browsing for the last couple of days trying to wrap my head around mountain biking, there is SO MUCH to learn! :eekster:

My concern lies in the fact that, although I don't have much money now while I'm a student living away from home. BUT, with that said, I really want to take advantage of the fact that I'm in Calgary, AB which is close to Canmore, and I have a friend there that said she can show me some sweet beginner trails.

Although I recognize that there is a lot to learn about specific parts and stuff, and that this will take time..I really, REALLY just want to get out there and bike around! So I'm looking for suggestions as to bikes that I should look into that will be:

1) A good starter bike that will get me into the sport;
2) Will not break the bank (~$300-400 new or used);
3) Will have decent resale value for when I upgrade, progress, and learn more

I am mainly looking right now for something that will be for trail riding for now. If it gets me to and from school to that would be great for this summer. I've looked at a couple of Specialized Hardrock that were posted on a local used item site, but my friend told me that its not worth it for the ~$325 price range that people are asking.

Any help would be great! Thanks in advanced! I hope to learn a lot from my time spent on this forum!

Kingsley

See less See more
#2 ·
You really can't get much new for $400. I just got a deal on a set of wheels that were $450 even at half-price. Just wheels.

On the other hand, if you beat up one of those Hardrock sellers for $275 say, then there is definitely a limit to how much you can loose on resale (assuming it's a late-model bike in reasonable condition and you don't do too many upgrades).

#3 ·