Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Back after 15 years & a little lost..

891 views 13 replies 5 participants last post by  zebrahum 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I bought a stock avalanche 1.0 with RS Tora...Was considering between other brands but settled for GT as I wanted to try out the triple triangle technology.. I love it! Its an awesome bike, always ready to pick up and go.. but for some reason.. I am NOT confident around turns and corners as I feel that the bike has a moment when it has a mind of it's own.. tends to turns too sharply.. I'm a noob.. and I've always had this "feel" with many rental bikes that they have around the parks but never on a bike of my own.. What could it be? Tyres too thin? Or is it a fork issue?

Btw, they dont let u test ride bikes where I'm from..

Maybe I'm just not used to it yet, find the stem a little too long, puts too much pressure on my wrist and forearms while riding on saddle...Actually begins to feel tired and hurt a little after a while.. It's running on Kenda Nevegals btw... and the frame is sized L, I'm around 6ft - abit:cornut:

To be honest, I feel more comfortable on my wife's 3.0 small ... though the bike looks a tat bit small for me.. Think I ought to shorten the stem of my ride? and maybe get higher riser bars..?

A little lost as I dont want to spend on something, such as a stem, only to find out that something else was the issue..:madman:

Many thanks in advance..:thumbsup:

Ride Safe,
Gekko

See less See more
#2 ·
Small changes in the hand position can make a big difference - stem or handlebar rise. Some shops offer "try before you buy stems" because it is expensive to buy several.

Is your tora an air or spring version? A too soft spring will cause the fork to dive.

Nevegals are popular, but other tires may be better for you location. Check the regional forums at the bottom of the main page and see what local riders use.

#3 ·