Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Would this be a good upgrade?

1K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  jeffj 
#1 ·
I have a 2005 Specialized hardrock and am thinking that I would like a more rugged fork. I don't want to break the bank and since I am relatively new to the sport I am not quite sure what to do. I am looking at an 09 rockshox domain 302 and will post the specs for it. I would like your opinions as well as if the thing will even fit on my bike.

• Travel - 115-160mm
• Travel Adjust - U-Turn
• Weight* - 2880g (6.35 lbs)
• Spring - Coil U-Turn
• Spring Adjust - Change spring
• Damping - Rebound
• Damping Adjust - External Rebound
• Lowers - Magnesium, Maxle 360 20mm axle, post disc mount
• Crown - Forged, hollow AL 66 TV, anodized aluminium
• Steerer Tube - 1.5"
• Upper Tubes - 35mm, 4130 taper wall steel, chrome
• Standard Colors - Red
• Suggested Rear Shox - Vivid
• Max. Recommended Rotor Size - 210mm

Also here is the URL http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=29839

See less See more
#5 ·
I agree with you , but with college right around the corner I don't see a new bike coming up anytime in the next five to six years so I am kind of trying to piece together a rather descent bike for myself to bring along to college as there are numerous trails around me.

#8 ·
If you could score a reba cheap that would be great. Cheaper options would be a recon or tora though a bit heavier than the reba and not as adjustable. A quick google search of your bike showed a marz mz comp as the fork on the top level hardrock. A recon or reba would b a bi improvement over what u have. Look for a recon or tora with motion control, not turn-key damping. Rebas already have motion control. rebas also come with dual air which I think is the best spring system out there for xc and aggressive xc riding.

#12 ·