Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

beginner choices

5K views 18 replies 8 participants last post by  tjrides 
#1 ·
links?

#2 ·
I am new to the mountain biking world, but very excited to get started, i have narrowed my first bike choices to 2 and i am hoping some of you might have some suggestions and input to help me narrow that to one

i am looking at a GT Avalanche 2.0 http://www.gtbicycles.com/bikes/mountain/endurance/2011-avalanche-2-0-disc-gtw-persian-blueor a KHS Alite 350 http://www.khsbicycles.com/04_alite_350l_11.htm

they are both in my price range and i like the look of them. the purple of the Alite pushes it a ahead of the GT a little since it is my favorite color, but i don't want to choose just on the color unless i am sure the bikes are otherwise comparable.

i don't know enough about the individual parts to know if one is way better than another in their stock builds. so hopefully someone here can chime in and help lead me in the right direction

#3 ·
To be honest, I've never even heard of the Altus or Acera line for Shimano, and I don't see them listed on their site either. Someone who knows more about it than myself can correct me, but I believe the GT looks to have better components. (As it should, since it's $200 more)

#6 ·
Altus/Acera are budget components that slot in below Shimano Deore. Usually used on entry level mountain bikes. Nothing wrong with them, except they usually tend to be a little heavier than their more expensive cousins, and limited to 7 or 8 speeds.

#9 ·
Nothing wrong with either of those bikes at that price range. Go for whichever one you can get at a better deal, or the one you 'like' the most. Make sure you take both for a test ride. You'll find they may have different handling characteristics and may like one bike over another. One may also be more comfortable than the other.

#11 ·