Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Bent WTB speed disc rim

2K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  AndrwSwitch 
#1 ·
I was going to post this in the WHEEL forum but since i'm just a beginner :thumbsup: i figured it's more appropriate to post here.

Bent the dang front rim on a small jump that I landed awkwardly (which ended up with me in barrel rolling a few feet and into a bush :madman: ). Anyway, brought it to my LBS and I guess it's too bent to do anything with. pics are below although it seems more bent than the pics show.

It's a WTB speed disc rim that came with my Moto 700HT . Do i simply look for a 26" disc rim for replacement? i'm on quite a budget, btw. LBS said they could get me a proper rim for 60+ tax (i forget the brand). then i found this WTB on Amazon. still looking for a better deal but not sure if there is any. I've been trying my local craigslist with no luck.

Am i looking for the right replacement? anything i need to know beside finding a 26" disc rim?

thanks...

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
Are you buying a rim or a wheel?

$60 for a decent wheel is not bad. You might get a lower price online, but that's before you pay for shipping.

$60 for a rim is actually also not a bad deal, for nicer rims. But then it would have to be installed, and that's a PITA, and expensive if you have to pay someone to do it.

What brand of hub is that? I'm always annoyed when my friends throw out perfectly good hubs with the destroyed rims they're laced into...

#8 ·
It's a WTB speed disc rim that came with my Moto 700HT . Do i simply look for a 26" disc rim for replacement? i'm on quite a budget, btw. LBS said they could get me a proper rim for 60+ tax (i forget the brand). then i found this WTB on Amazon. still looking for a better deal but not sure if there is any. I've been trying my local craigslist with no luck.

#9 ·
Are you the OP, or is this just a really bad two days for WTB rims?