Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

First DH/FR Bike

1K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  b-kul 
#1 ·
Hello,

I'v decided to switch from cross-country mountain biking to downhill for the next season. My cross-country bike is getting pretty beat up and it's been a very long time since I'v gone bike shopping. Anyways, I'm pretty much a beginner when it comes to DH and FR so I would appreciate your advice in choosing a bike. I intend to ride fairly aggressively and so far this seems to be the best bang for the buck that I have found. My budget is around $1500.

This is one bike I found online, if I got with it, what size frame should I go with considering I measure 5"11 and weigh in at 190 lbs?
http://www.canadabicycleparts.com/20...ii-p-1810.html

Thanks for your help!

#2 ·
Im in a similar boat. I am of similar height and like the large because i feel more comfortable on that size. I have no experience aside from researching bikes for the last 2 months so here are a few ideas in the NEW side of things. It is tough to find a new bike in the $1500 but there are some options that i have found. You could always go used.

Scott Voltage Freeride $1800 msrp (have gotten pretty good reviews from what i gather)
http://www.scott-sports.com/us_en/product/10034/55666/217971

Marin Quake (an older one may get you close to your budget)

The big hit is a good choice (2011 big hit I is $2000 but may be able to get it a bit cheaper)

Airborne Taka ($1500 with coupon til the end of the month)
http://www.giantnerd.com/airborne-taka-mountain-bike-freeride-downhill.html

Hope that helps. Good luck on finding a bike and hopefully i can too lol.

#4 ·