Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

I suck at cornering

2K views 30 replies 22 participants last post by  Cable0guy 
#1 ·
First step is to admit you have a problem, right? I can corner d@mn well on pavement, when I hit the dirt I just get hesitant. I enjoy a good drift, as long as I come out right side up.
I tend to start a turn fine, then hesitate and gently drag the rear brake. It's not habit though, I just consciously hesitate.

Maybe this belongs in the beginner forums, though I am not a beginner. I've posted here respecting that here there are many riders a lot better than me. So be gentle! :rolleyes:

Any suggestions? I've been practicing on the same backyard "turn" to no avail.

I understand proper form/loading. Even when traction is phenomenal I puss out too often. :thumbsup:

#4 ·
Best single thing you can ever learn to do is look through your turns,head up.It dosent happen naturally for most people and takes persistence to do it without thinking.Once you do it ,your body tends to make minor corrections automatically.So much,so,that what you think are your problems really aren't ,cuz your not looking at the ground in front of you.

I takes time ,but I would work on this before anything else,personally.Also dragging a rear isn't automatically bad if you've come in too hot or it helps track the wheel better in certain situations.And work on different corners,both sides.Good Luck!

#5 ·
Consciously looking to the end of the turn helps indeed, I'll focus on that tomorrow.
Part of the problem is I try to focus on one thing I imagine may help, such as loading and then botch the rest. Or I think "arghh there are leaves!"
I think you may be right though, look in the right spot and the rest will follow. Thanks, good suggestion.

#6 ·