Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Bianchi SASS tips/ tricks/ info?

8K views 24 replies 9 participants last post by  alshead 
#1 ·
I'm brand new to SS- in fact, I'm still shopping. I have my eye on a 2005 Bianchi SASS and I love the look and definitely want to be in a steel frame. The bike has been outfitted with a Fox 80mm front fork (which I've read is the right correction for that frame). I have been looking around for more feedback/ beta on this bike, but I'm not finding much. I know the Bianchi's run a little long, and a little tall for the frame size, but I think it's the right size from talking to the current owner.

Anyone out there riding a SASS or one of its many cousins? Anything you like/ dislike? Any issues I should know about?

This is my first SS, so I wanted to keep it cheap and keep it simple, but not so simple that I wouldn't want the front suspension :). I know I'll not love the grind the first ride or so, but I'm psyched about the simplicity after being on a Full Susp for the last couple of years.

#2 ·
I've got a rigid MUSS, the last in the long line of Bianchi 26" SS bikes.

It's fairly light, and rides like a BMX bike. I considered putting a suspension fork on it, but after considering how my other bikes ride, decided it'd ruin what the MUSS was meant to be. I understand where you're coming from though.

Search the forums and you'll find plenty of posts concerning the Bianchis.

#3 ·
Bob and I are MUSS riders, both fully rigid. I am a fan of the Bianchi family of SS due to their keen geometry. I wouldn't rule out the rigid fork until you try it. I remember when I decided I was going to stick with the original fork, my buddies thought I was crazy. Now I wouldn't change anything. I can't specifically comment on the SASS, but it is very nice frame. I have often thought about picking up a MUSS for a future build but now have my sites on a 650b custom frame.