Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Please help pick my new singlespeed

983 views 15 replies 15 participants last post by  S.O.B. 
#1 ·
hello!

So i've been looking online for the best deal and best quality for that deal. This is the specs im looking for:

SingleSpeed hardtail Mountain bike
disk brakes
rigid or front suspension only
29er (optional)
under $600 or wife kills me.

so far i looked at so many single speeds, from motobecane, to surly, Haro, specialized and so on. I guess the best price ive found is the 2010 motobecane oucast 29er, basecally everything i want in the bike, for $500. I just need to know if i should go with that bike, or if theres some bike out there in this world that meats my needs. I am new to SS, so i guess the motobecane is the right deal, i just dont want it to be a complete waste.

If someone knows of a bike, please tell me, i have one month from today to decide and buy. Thank you guys, i promise what ever i buy, i will post pics here.

#5 ·
I got the 09' Motobecane full rigid, rim brakes. $350 with free delivery and it's been sweet. Upgraded a few items, but nothing important, and it's been bombproof. I originally bought it to try SS out and to train on, but I've raced it all season. Three six hour races, several USCA races and tons of trail rides, and not a single mechanical (other than flats). The handling is amazing, and I can't tell you how many carbon race bikes I've ridden past. I can't comment on the 2010, it has the same frame but has the shock and disc brakes.

#6 ·
I had an Moto Outcast. Hated the frame (aluminum). Went to a Monocog. Much better. You can get yourself a Monocog for way under the $600 figure and use the rest for upgrades. The stock components, for all bikes mentioned, is pretty much all subpar. My '08 will be getting a new headset, BB, and cranks this winter.

#7 ·
p nut said: