Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Help with Schwalbe tires

651 views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  juanbeegas 
#1 ·
Hi.
Im new in downhill modality so I will change my tires (1.7) to something about 2.2-2.4.
I´m now using a rigid frame and the bicycle is light, because I'm not heavy and I will go to little downhill trails, not extreme. I´m searching light tires. I think schwalbe would be better for me, but which ? Rocket Ron, Racing Ralph, Nobby Nic,.., or other from other brands...?
I will use then in roots, some rock dry and little wet, no mud.
Thanks

#2 ·
Ummmm.....i hope your gonna be riding a frame that can handle what you wanna ride it on. IMO i wont really go for a light tire, i'd stick with some thing that has a strong sidewall, and a good caseing to it, like a maxxis highroller DH, schwalbe muddy marry , things along thos lines

#6 ·
Fat alberts should fit the bill for what you are looking for. The fr version is pretty tough and the snakeskin side walls are stupid tough compared to a typical single ply.

I ran my Muddy Marys this last week sat, sun, mon, tue, wed, thur, fri and then Monday again from rock boulder drops to fontanna to rock chutes similair to tunnel and jagged as well as jammed down in rocky ruts and just rode them out full speed. Some gashing on the sidewalls but the snakeskin took it and stopped rips, I know because I have blown single plys on almost all these trails...

The fat alberts are 800+g and offer excellent tread as well as braking and cornering. They are more Enduro All mtn Freeridish which should fit your calling spot on. :thumbsup:

#9 ·
urubullino said:
Hi.
Im new.... my tires (1.7)...I´m now using a rigid frame...not extreme... I´m searching light tires...Look, I will go uphill too...
I don't think the downhill - freeride forum was the right place for your question. "All mountain" would have been a better choice.

#11 ·
ryates said:
Hi juan