Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Newb advice for Haro X6 in the Phoenix Area

3K views 21 replies 10 participants last post by  way-no 
#1 ·
Hey everyone,

I am pretty new to the sport but am getting addicted and quick. I currently have a Hardtail Giant but am seeing how much i would really like to have a Full suspension bike. I am notriously a Craigslist Ho and try to buy everything from there since I am willing sacrifice it being new for a better price / features I wouldnt opt for if purchasing new.

I have been checking looking high and low and have checked some bikes out but just found a show that has some 08 Haro Extreme X6 available for $650 new. That is in my price point but I just want to make sure its inline with my desired riding style.

I just rode McDoweel Mountains for the first time and completley loved it. I don't know what you would classify that type of riding as but every chance I get I try and jump.

So for that the bike seems inline with my ideas but many people say its not good for XC and I don't wan to be getting left behind the pack ya know... any thoughts?

#2 ·
WhenI started riding it was on small travel bikes and as my riding progressed the trails got harder and the bikes got bigger and the travel grew longer. That being said, I would look for an all mountain bike with 6 inches of travel at the least.Thats my two cents anyways.

#3 ·
and from whatg I can tell the haro x6 comes with mech brakes not hydro something to consider. and If u are wanting to do XC stuff thats probley not the bike your looking for. Also the components are really improtant, and you get what u pay for, and by the factory spec list u will end up replacing some of those for sure, but it will get you started.

#4 ·
Honestly

If your price point is only $650, I would stick with your hardtail til you can save up more money. You said you enjoy jumping.
IMO, you would be better off on your HT with better parts than a cheap fully.